

Executive Group Terms of Reference

The Executive Group is formed of the Principal Investigator, Co-Directors (Co-Investigators who co-lead one of the six streams); the Co-Director for Capacity Building, and the Chief Operating Officer.

The Executive Group has responsibility for:

- Overall strategic management of the Hub
- Development of partnerships and capability across the Hub
- Monitoring and evaluation of Hub research, activities and Theory of Change
- Identifying opportunities to maximise the impact of Hub research
- Management and mitigation of Hub risks
- Management of the Flexible Fund
- Development and implementation of Hub policies
- Top level financial management
- First stage resolution of disputes and grievances, where these cannot be dealt with at Hub collaborating Partners.

Attendance:

- The chair of the Executive Group is the Principal Investigator.
- Should both Co-Directors of one stream be unable to attend an Executive Group meeting, they may nominate a deputy from the Co-Investigators in that stream.
- The Executive Group will be quorate when at least eight members (or their delegates) are participating in the meeting, with representation from at least four of the six streams.

Frequency of meetings:

- The Executive Group meets in person twice a year.
- Additional meetings may be held by videocall and decisions can be reached out of cycle (with same quorum applying).

Standing items:



- Chair's Report (to include Advisory Board update, relationships with other Hubs, funder engagement)
- Chief Operating Officer Report (MICA business)
- Stream Health Reports
- Working Group Reports
- Financial Management
- Risk Monitoring

Executive Group Members:

- **Josephine Ahikire** is Co-Director of Livelihoods, Land and Rights Stream; member of the Capability Building and Partnerships Working Group; Professor and the former Dean of the School of Women and Gender Studies, Makerere University.
- **Kirsten Ainley** is Deputy Principal Investigator; Co-Director of Law and Policy Framework Stream; member of the Management Team; member of the Impact and Conventions and Ethics and Grievances Working Groups; Associate Professor of International Relations at the London School of Economics and Political Science.
- **Kopalapillai Amirthalingam** is Co-Director of the Migration and Displacement Stream; member of the Safeguarding and Risk Working Group; Professor in Economics attached to the Department of Economics, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka.
- Christine Chinkin is Principal Investigator; chair of the Executive Group; Co-Director of Law and Policy Frameworks Stream; member of the Management Team; Professorial Research Fellow in the Centre for Women, Peace and Security, LSE.
- Neloufer De Mel is Co-Director for Capacity Building; member of the Capability and Partnerships and Safeguarding and Risk Working Groups; Professor of English at the Department of English, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka.
- **Zoe Gillard** is Hub Chief Operating Officer; member of the Management Team; member of the Communications, Capability and Partnerships and Safeguarding and Risk Working Groups; Manager of the Centre for Women, Peace and Security, LSE.
- Choman Hardi is Co-Director of Masculinities and Sexualities Stream, member of the Ethics and Grievance and Flexible Funding Working Groups; Director of the Center for Gender and Development Studies at American University of Iraq, Sulaimani.
- **Mazeda Hossain** is Co-Director of the Methodological Innovation Stream; member of the Impact and Conventions Working Group; Associate Professorial Research Fellow in the Centre for Women, Peace and Security, LSE.
- Paul Kirby is Co-Director of the Masculinities and Sexualities Stream; member of the Management Team; member of the Flexible Funding and Safeguarding and Risk Working Groups; Associate Professorial Research Fellow at the Centre for Women, Peace and Security, LSE.



- Eleonore Kofman is Co-Director of the Migration and Displacement Stream; member
 of the Capability Building and Partnerships and Flexible Funding Working Groups;
 Co-Director of the Social Policy Research Centre at Middlesex University.
- Fionnuala Ní Aoláin is Co-Director of the Transformation and Empowerment Stream; member of the Impact and Conventions Working Group; Professor of Law at the Queens University, School of Law, Belfast
- Angelika Rettberg Beil is Co-Director of the Transformation and Empowerment Stream; member of the Communications and Flexible Funding Working Groups; Professor at the Political Science Department at Universidad de los Andes, Colombia.
- Camilo Sanchez is Co-Director of the Livelihood, Land and Rights Steam; member of the Impact and Conventions Working Group; director of the Transitional Justice line at Dejusticia, Colombia.
- Laura Shepherd is Co-Director of the Methodological Innovation Stream; member of the Communications and Ethics and Grievances Working Groups; Professor of International Relations at the University of Sydney.

Working Groups:

Executive Group members (with the exception of the PI) all serve on at least one Working Group of the Executive Group, with responsibility for specific work areas:

- Hub Communications
- Capability Building and Partnerships (including Exchange Scheme)
- Impact (including Monitoring, Evaluation and Learning and Hub Conventions)
- Ethics and Grievances
- Flexible Funding
- Safeguarding and Risk

Working Groups are responsible for:

- Drafting Hub policies and procedures in the specific areas, supported by MICA staff;
- Enacting Hub policies where those policies include specific reference to decisionmaking and/or oversight functions;
- Monitoring and reviewing existing Hub policies to ensure continuing relevance to Hub activities or reflecting changes in the research or operating environment of the Hub;
- Contributing to the monitoring and evaluation of the outcomes and impact of the Hub's research and advocacy activities;
- Contributing to Hub activities, such as communications and Hub Conventions, by providing expert advice, support and advocacy as required;
- Liaising with the Management Team and reporting to the Executive Group on their area of responsibility.

Each working group comprises members of the Executive Group, one representative from the Management Team (excluding the Principal Investigator) and, where they have relevant expertise, Co-Investigators nominated by a member of the Executive Group. Working group updates will be provided at each Executive Group meeting as a standing agenda item. Decisions by the Executive Group can be sought out of session as required.

